Lower Austria is one of the largest wine regions in Austria. It covers an area of around 28,000 hectares of vineyards, operated by approximately 16,000 winemakers. White wines dominate in this region, making up about 80% of the vineyards. Among the white wine varieties the “Grüner Veltliner” accounts for almost 50 %, consequently Lower Austria also known as the “Veltlinerland”. Other common varieties are the Müller Thurgau and Riesling. The red wine varieties are dominated by the Blue Portuguese and Zweigelt.

The wine region of Lower Austria is divided into eight wine regions: Wachau, Krems, Kamp, Wagram, Traisental, Carnuntum, Weinviertel and the Thermenregion.